Made a drainage mess by working on wet clay area - need advice please!!

Learn how improving your soil can lead to a better looking lawn
mbaisley
Grass Type: Transition Mix (Fescue, Bermuda, Rye)
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

Made a drainage mess by working on wet clay area - need advice please!!

Post by mbaisley » April 8th, 2019, 2:15 pm

I'm in Knoxville, TN and I'm brand new to the forum. I'm also an amateur so please go easy on me about my "mess up" .... I didn't know better and now I do.... I just don't know how to fix my mess.

I'm also under a time crunch because we are having about 40-something kids over next Saturday (4/20) for an Easter egg hunt and my wife is TICKED.

I have about about 1,600 sq. ft. that I messed up last weekend by working on top of some wet clay. Should have known better, but I didn't realize that you can turn some relatively "un-compacted" clay soil into a big, impermeable water bowl by walking on it while wet.

Here's the brief background: we built our house and finished it last November. The 1,600 sq. ft. area in question was created with all of the dirt (poor quality, probably 90% heavy clay and rock) that came out of digging the basement and foundation areas. It was spread and "blended" into a shaded area off the backyard and then compacted down with a big Bobcat. The goal was (and still is) to make a nice playground area for the kids.

It was November when we finished, we were out of money, and it was really too late to sow grass anyway. So I went ahead and tilled in about 3 inches of topsoil, wood chips and peat moss using my little JD tractor and tiller. I let it sit over the winter and was feeling good about getting a good start on building some soil that would sustain life .... it had some organic material in it and it was getting some air circulation. So far, so good.