Learn how improving your soil can lead to a better looking lawn
MAlawn11
Grass Type: Northern Mix/KBG/TTTF
Lawn Size: 10000-20000
Level: Novice

MAlawn11's Soil Test - 2019

Post by MAlawn11 » September 8th, 2019, 6:41 pm

Hello All,

I purchased my house at the end November 2018 and had no understanding of proper lawn care. I attempted a Spring overseed this year which did not go well (I realize now that Fall is the better time). I have spent countless hours on this site trying to get up to speed. This site has been a great resource, however I still have much to learn! As an FYI, I have 4-gallon battery powered backpack sprayer, a contact and a systemic TeeJet spray nozzle, and am becoming comfortable with spray applications. I am still learning, but willing to give anything a shot!

My lawn size is approximately 17k and appears to be a northern mix. I purchased 100 lbs of 80% TTTF/20% KBG (approx. 6lbs per 1k) per recommendation from Bob Hogan (The Hogan Blend + 20% Hogan’s Alley Blend from Hogan Seed). The blend included 20% Hemi, 20% Raptor III, 20% Rowdy, 20% Firewall, 5% Award, 5% Midnight, 5% Blue Note, and 5% Legend.

I noticed several grubs/grub-like insects while conducting my soil test and therefore applied a 24-hour grub killer during seeding. I plan on researching the Fall Nitrogen Regimens next, followed by PGR/FAS applications, fungicides, and working on creating a monthly plan for next year.

Should I collect another soil sample next spring or will this sample suffice for next year (therefore, collect the next soil sample in Spring 2021)? I also had Logan Labs run the particle size test which I have attached for reference (not sure if this helps).

My fall overseeding schedule was/is as follows:

August 29: Mowed low and sprayed PGR (QualiPro T-Nex) at full rate (0.75 fl oz. per 1k)

August 31: Dethatched and mowed low second time