Soil Test - Garrett - 2021

Learn how improving your soil can lead to a better looking lawn
growingpains
Grass Type: Bermuda
Lawn Size: 5000-10000
Level: Novice

Soil Test - Garrett - 2021

Post by growingpains » March 16th, 2021, 11:01 pm

Hi all! This is my first time doing a soil test (Sorry I missed the note that the sample should have only been at 3"-4" depth). Recently bought my first house and am looking forward to starting a lawn this year. The house is new construction so I am planning to lay Bermuda TifTuf for its drought tolerance.

Lawn Size: 8,000 sq. ft.
Grass Type (To Be): Bermuda TifTuf
Experience: Novice

Thank you in advance.

andy10917
Grass Type: Emblem KBG (Front); Blueberry KBG Monostand (Back)
Lawn Size: 1 acre-2 acre
Level: Advanced

Re: Soil Test - Garrett - 2021

Post by andy10917 » March 16th, 2021, 11:06 pm

Put a link pointing to this posting into the Soil Test Interpretation Queue

andy10917

Post by andy10917 » March 20th, 2021, 9:50 am

I see why Morph took a pass on this one.

I hate when this happens - the first-time soil test results come back showing a pretty bad calcareous soil situation, and I have to put the member into the situation of choosing between re-running the test (which costs more money and time) or living with me having to estimate and guess at what the correct results might be.

Garrett, unfortunately you're stuck with making the decision - I can do my best and hope I'm right, or you can ask Logan Labs to re-run your test with the "Ammonium Acetate extraction of cations". Calcareous soils require special testing, as there is so much Calcium in the soil that it distorts the Calcium and all of the other results. I'll get it read as soon as you make the call...

growingpains

Post by growingpains » March 20th, 2021, 10:47 am