Ken-n-Nancy's 2014 Back Yard Renovation / Side Yard Overseed

Discuss how to and whether you should renovate your lawn
ken-n-nancy
Grass Type: Front: KBG (Bewitched+Prosperity); Side: Bewitched KBG; Back: Fine Fescue Blend + Prosperity
Lawn Size: 10000-20000
Level: Experienced

Ken-n-Nancy's 2014 Back Yard Renovation / Side Yard Overseed

Post by ken-n-nancy » August 3rd, 2014, 11:58 pm

Hello! I'm new to the BL/ATY website, with this being my first posting.

My main reason for joining the site is to be able to glean some tips from your collective experience and wisdom on lawn care -- there is clearly a lot of hard-earned knowledge present in the readership here!

The areas I really think I need help are with suggestions on soil amendments, fertilization, lawn establishment, weed control, and proper watering. (OK, so maybe I need help with everything!) Then again, since I have so much to learn, there might be more important questions that I don't even know to ask! However, it seems that in order for you to help, it may be best for me to provide a little bit of background...

What got me started being more concerned about lawn care is having had the front lawn regraded last fall (Oct 2013), in conjunction with removal of two huge trees from the front yard and installation of a new porch on the house. We also had an irrigation system installed last fall. The "new lawn" in the front of the house has been a tremendous encouragement to us and I am now tackling the rest of the lawn.

I live in Bedford, NH (Zone 5b) and have 12500 sqft of lawn area, bordered on one side by the street and on three sides by woods (mostly oak and maple trees, but with quite a few other varieties mixed in, too). With woods on three sides, most of our lawn sees quite a bit of shade, but the front lawn does get direct sun for more than half of the day. (See the photo below, taken on "seed down" day last year. (9 Oct 2013))