LeftField11's Lawn Reno - 9,600 sq ft - Quack Battle

Discuss how to and whether you should renovate your lawn
LeftField11
Grass Type: KBG - Bewitched, Blueberry, Prosperity
Lawn Size: 10000-20000
Level: Some Experience

LeftField11's Lawn Reno - 9,600 sq ft - Quack Battle

Post by LeftField11 » July 27th, 2016, 2:59 pm

I figured I should start my own thread to document this process. Complete newb here and every time I feel like I have a good handle on what needs to be done I find more information.
Area: Front and back yard, 9600 FS, 7200 sunny, 2400 shady
Seed: KBG mix (Bewitched, Blueberry, Prosperity) for sunny; KBG/FF mix (Bewitched 50%, 30% Intrigue, 20% Navigator II) for shady

The glypho with surfactant should be delivered today, planning to nuke it tomorrow.

Here's the current process and timeline I've laid out - this has been updated daily for the last week

Here's my soil test report in the soil forum
http://aroundtheyard.com/soil/soil-test ... 20790.html
Last edited by LeftField11 on October 19th, 2016, 8:02 am, edited 17 times in total.

Dr. Drill
Grass Type: TTTF-Cochise IV, LS1200, Falcon V -65%, Midnight KBG-25%, Spitfire HBG- 10%
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

Re: LeftField11's Lawn Renovation - 9,600 sq ft, zone 6b

Post by Dr. Drill » July 27th, 2016, 3:25 pm

I'm just a rookie but what's "BLSC/KH"?

edenl01
Grass Type: Northern Mix

Post by edenl01 » July 27th, 2016, 3:28 pm

Bestlawn soil conditioner and kelp help plus humates.
The idea is the conditioner causes the soil to flocculate or stick together allowing room for water nutrients and OM. The kelp help is supposed the help break down organic mater to get into the spaces the conditioner creates. That's my understanding.

There is more on it in the faq or articles sections
[ Post made via iPhone ] Image
Last edited by edenl01 on July 27th, 2016, 3:33 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dr. Drill
Grass Type: TTTF-Cochise IV, LS1200, Falcon V -65%, Midnight KBG-25%, Spitfire HBG- 10%