Discuss how to and whether you should renovate your lawn
lowcountryboy
Grass Type: Bermuda
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

lowcountryboy's Side Yard Reno 2017!!!

Post by lowcountryboy » June 15th, 2017, 7:10 pm

Hi all!

I have been roaming the site for a few months now and really taken an interest in my lawn because of the greatness I have witnessed :good: . Due to this inspiration, I have undertaken a full renovation in our side yard that all started with a tree removal. This has turned into a full-blown, start-from-scratch project that I would like to share with others and field questions (pun intended) about.

Overarching Info:
Rental Property before purchasing 2 years ago (not maintained)
Charleston, SC property - barrier island within 1 mile of salt marsh
Just completed a well/pump project to water the property (.1 acre)
Looking to seed bermuda for Traffic/Water/Development Speed reasons

This is the before image with the original picket fence removed:

Mulberry Tree removed and work has begun to fully overhaul the weed-filled, un-managed yard. And now the new picket fence is going up:

Proposed Design:

Next steps are:
Complete the picket fence (for dog purposes).
Add soil nutrients and local compost, till into the soil due to overwhelming compaction and low (2%) organic matter content.
Create garden beds and stone pathways with edging.
Seed the lawn with "Bermuda" (need assistance in picking seed) and cover with Peat Moss.
Continue to baby the newly created property :mod: .

Would love to get some input and expertise in getting started with this new hobby (obsession) and developing a family friendly yard to enjoy!

g-man
Grass Type: Mix (mostly KBG)

Re: lowcountryboy's Side Yard Reno 2017!!!

Post by g-man » June 16th, 2017, 9:02 am