Discuss how to and whether you should renovate your lawn
thatfishguy
Grass Type: Tall fescue and perennial ryegrass
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

Time to start over - where to start?

Post by thatfishguy » September 3rd, 2019, 11:04 am

Hi all-

Apologies if this is the wrong place or if I'm asking questions that have been covered in great detail before. i tried reading through the FAQs and some articles, and I think I have a way forward but wanted to confirm.

I'm a NYC resident who never had anything resembling a lawn until 5 years ago, when I bought a seasonal home out on Long Island. I've been paying people for the past 5 years to care for the lawn, and I've reached the point where I think I'm paying for nothing - the lawn doesn't seem very good, the prices are relatively high, and I've reached the point where I'm going to give it a go myself.

The breaking point was when my latest landscaper cleared some brush for me with the plan that he was going to seed the lawn. The clearing was done in May. For whatever reason, he disappeared until late June and claimed it wasn't too late to seed then. He proceeded to nuke the remaining weeds with RoundUp, and now I have a patch of 20x85' of dirt, basically. The rest of the property is a third of an acre riddled with weeds, from crabgrass, clover, chickweed and some other stuff I haven't identified yet.

I think my plan of action is going to be as follows:
  1. Follow the triangle approach and hit the entire lawn over the next 2-4 weeks to target the weeds
  • Send off soil sample for nutritional analysis
  • Fertilize
  • Aerate the soil and seed