Bermuda lawn leveling and overseeing. Please Help!!!

Discuss how to and whether you should renovate your lawn
cello2421
Grass Type: Bermuda
Lawn Size: 10000-20000
Level: Novice

Bermuda lawn leveling and overseeing. Please Help!!!

Post by cello2421 » February 17th, 2020, 1:33 pm

Hello everyone, I'm a newbie to lawncare and I've been following this forum for the past year.

Here's my situation, I have a newly constructed home in San Antonio, TX that was sodded with Tiff-419 last year. The prep to the yard was poor prior to sodding and now I have a yard full of dips and uneven patches. Also several areas have died and I now have patches of dead grass through-out my yard. My intention was to level the yard this spring with sand to achieve a level yard that my kids can run on without tripping. Should I overseed the yard first or attempt the leveling? Or can I do both at the same time. Please help, all comments are appreciated.

andy10917
Grass Type: Emblem KBG (Front); Blueberry KBG Monostand (Back)
Lawn Size: 1 acre-2 acre
Level: Advanced

Re: Bermuda lawn leveling and overseeing. Please Help!!!

Post by andy10917 » February 17th, 2020, 1:58 pm

A couple of questions:

1) Why did the dead ares die?
2) What do you plan to overseed with (be specific)

cello2421

Post by cello2421 » February 17th, 2020, 3:04 pm

I'm not sure, I think irrigation or the soil could be the issue. I need to get the soil tested to see what I'm dealing with.

As for the overseeding I was thinking Blackjack (which I can get locally), or ordering La Prima Bermuda. What do you think?

andy10917
Grass Type: Emblem KBG (Front); Blueberry KBG Monostand (Back)
Lawn Size: 1 acre-2 acre

Post by andy10917 » February 17th, 2020, 5:16 pm

Look, I'm no Bermuda expert, but after reading EVERY posting on this site (as the senior moderator) for 11 years, I've picked up something here and there. I hope one of the Bermuda guys will grab this and run with it for you.