What to do with my trees...

Learn about evergreen and deciduous trees here
Yossarian
Grass Type: Bermuda
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

What to do with my trees...

Post by Yossarian » March 24th, 2017, 3:30 pm

The builder planted these two monterrey oaks in my front yard. I feel like they were spaced way too close together. I also think that they'll eventually cause problems for my grass, but honestly, I'd rather have the trees than the grass. My front yard is so small that I could just landscape it and grow grass elsewhere.

My question is: Can I prune more of the bottom limbs off? It sends out long messy shoots every spring which tend to sag really low. I don't want to go too aggressive and damage the tree, or give it a lollipop look.

B

STL
Grass Type: TTTF

Re: What to do with my trees...

Post by STL » March 24th, 2017, 10:10 pm

I'm no tree expert but that doesn't look thought out at all. If it were me, I'd look to transplant one or both.

TimmyG
Grass Type: Northern Mix
Lawn Size: 20000-1 acre
Level: Experienced

Post by TimmyG » March 24th, 2017, 10:52 pm

Although not huge, Monterrey oaks grow large enough that you'll definitely want to sacrifice one or the other in order to give the remaining one the space to grow into a beautiful specimen tree. Those are rapidly growing trees, so I would suggest doing it sooner rather than later. As for pruning the lower limbs, have at it. If you've never done it before, read up a little on the dos and don'ts so that you feel more comfortable doing it. Honestly, pruning is super easy; you just want to be smart about it so as not to damage the tree in the process. I do suggest that you peruse images online of mature Monterrey oaks to understand their shape and growth habit. See what a high-limbed mature specimen looks like before you take the plunge.

Yossarian

Post by Yossarian » March 25th, 2017, 11:44 am