Seeking Advice on What Trees to Plant

Learn about evergreen and deciduous trees here
gwpeaks
Grass Type: Fescue Blend
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

Seeking Advice on What Trees to Plant

Post by gwpeaks » May 12th, 2021, 7:54 am

We recently had over 10 large trees removed from our front yard. They were too large and the process of cleaning up leaves, acorns, stick, and berries was just a never-ending pain. Now that they are gone and I'm waiting for my grass (fescue) to grow in good I'd like to start planning to plant a couple of small trees so the yard isn't completely bare. I'd like to plant only a couple and want something that will not grow over 20' or so that will not create another nightmare of leaves and such. This is my first yard and I'm not too savvy on landscaping so I'm wondering if anyone has any suggestions? I was considering either a dogwood, Bradford Pear, or Japanese Cherry tree but I have no experience with any of them. I'd also like a breed that won't prevent grass from growing around it if such a breed exists.

Masbustelo
Grass Type: Mazama KBG
Lawn Size: 20000-1 acre
Level: Some Experience

Re: Seeking Advice on What Trees to Plant

Post by Masbustelo » May 15th, 2021, 10:48 am

Bradford pears are considered nuisance species by many.

MorpheusPA
Grass Type: Elite KBG
Lawn Size: 10000-20000
Level: Advanced

Post by MorpheusPA » May 15th, 2021, 5:48 pm

Yeah, go over to other Web sites and say Bradford Pear. I'd like to see you annoy somebody who can't keep her fat mouth shut and thinks she's the world expert on everything.

I have one. If maintained--and it is an effort--and trained from a very young age, with older wood removed, you can keep it going for a fairly long time. Most people don't bother, so count on a thirty-year lifespan, and on having pieces break in heavy storms after age 15. The one next door came crashing down at around that age due to lack of maintenance right into my yard. They paid for the damage.