Buying Hostas online/bulk?

This Forum is for gardening discussions in areas that vary from less than full-sun to deep shade.
ENVY23
Grass Type: KBG: Midnight, Bluebank, Mazama
Lawn Size: 10000-20000
Level: Some Experience

Buying Hostas online/bulk?

Post by ENVY23 » May 14th, 2015, 11:54 pm

I'm new to hostas, but would like to plant a border of hostas along the woodline on each side of my driveway. Approximate length is 80ft, and it seems hostas should be spaced about 2ft apart, which means 40 hostas per side(minus the width of each hosta I assume?). The local nurseries want $20-$25 ea. for a 1 gal size and for 80 hostas that's like $1,600. Is there anywhere to get them cheaper or make a bulk purchase online? I'm a bit uneasy about buying plants online, so just seeing if anyone has bought any online or had any luck(good or bad). I'd prefer a young plant as opposed to just buying the bulbs. Is there maybe a cheaper, shade tolerant alternative to hostas? Thanks in advance.

likeasponge
Grass Type: Bewitched/prosperity
Lawn Size: 5000-10000
Level: Experienced

Re: Buying Hostas online/bulk?

Post by likeasponge » May 15th, 2015, 12:23 am

Your question reminds me of this thread. http://aroundtheyard.com/post226625.htm ... ta#p226625

andy10917
Grass Type: Emblem KBG (Front); Blueberry KBG Monostand (Back)
Lawn Size: 1 acre-2 acre
Level: Advanced

Post by andy10917 » May 15th, 2015, 9:06 am

I generally try not to tell people that what they'd prefer doing is not a good idea -- but in this situation I think you need to understand how hostas are grown and sold. It's a subject that I have studied and worked with for many years...