Buying hostas -- where?

This Forum is for gardening discussions in areas that vary from less than full-sun to deep shade.
TheOscarGuy
Grass Type: don't know/mix
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

Buying hostas -- where?

Post by TheOscarGuy » May 13th, 2016, 9:22 pm

I am new to Hostas. Last year we bought 5 plants from Home Depot and planted them. They seemed like they would shrivel and die -- we also had deer eat the plant leaves and I was sure that they were a goner.
This year the plants have come back to life, with more leaves than I remember from last year. I love their look and can not wait for them to get older.
We have another area in our yard, top of the slope, where there is plenty of shade (though it does get some morning sun). I would like to plant Hostas there. I am a little confused as to where to source them from. I found from these forums an online vendor:

http://www.gilberthwild.com/Hosta-25-Mi ... fo/O%2D25/

and was thinking of getting 25 mixed hosta plants from here. But my wife pointed me that Home Depot typically carried plants that are $3.50 per plant. Her reasoning was that we can look and see the plants we are buying (from HD/lowes) and the price seems reasonable, why not buy it from local HD rather than online vendor.

Price wise I don't see much difference -- $50 for 25 plants from Gilbert H Wild and $10 for shipping takes it to $60 for 25 plants. HD is still costly but not by that much, and all of this under the assumption that both plants are similar in size.

Am I missing something here? My goal is obviously to have a dense, fully grown foliage from plants I buy as soon as possible. To me, there does not seem to be much difference in plants I am getting -- can someone school me if I am making a mistake buying it from HD and not from Gilbert? Is there sizing difference between these two? Quality? I am easy to please, and I like the ones I got from HD last year. I thought I will mention that again, I am not a Hosta expert!