First Time With Hostas - Planting from Bare Root

This Forum is for gardening discussions in areas that vary from less than full-sun to deep shade.
Casutherland
Grass Type: TTTF
Lawn Size: 1000-3000
Level: Some Experience

First Time With Hostas - Planting from Bare Root

Post by Casutherland » April 4th, 2017, 12:07 pm

Andy, this question is somewhat directed toward you, since you have quite a bit of experience with hostas.

I recently had a friend tell me to plant a hosta bed in my back yard along our deck. Our beds along the deck get some afternoon sun, but little morning or evening sun. We are in Zone 7.

Since this is my first time planting a garden bed of any kind, especially Hostas, I am reaching out to you for help and suggestions. First of all, I thought about buying the 25 variety pack from Gilbert Wild & Sons. However, I have no experience planting from Bare Root. Can help fill me in?

I read that you need to soak these bare roots for an hour prior to planting them in the soil. Is that accurate? I do not really have a greenhouse area, so this soaking will most likely occur in my kitchen or garage. Do you have any other suggestions to help me succeed in creating this hosta bed?

andy10917
Grass Type: Emblem KBG (Front); Blueberry KBG Monostand (Back)
Lawn Size: 1 acre-2 acre
Level: Advanced

Re: First Time With Hostas - Planting from Bare Root

Post by andy10917 » April 4th, 2017, 12:21 pm

I'd be happy to help - what question is first?

Casutherland

Post by Casutherland » April 4th, 2017, 12:24 pm

andy10917 wrote:
April 4th, 2017, 12:21 pm
I'd be happy to help - what question is first?
Well, do you recommend planting by bare root for a first timer? If so, do you have any study material or suggestions on how to accomplish that?