Soil Analysis in late September?

A forum to learn and discuss the importance of lawn care basics
Dargin
Grass Type: Northern Mix
Lawn Size: 1000-3000
Level: Some Experience

Soil Analysis in late September?

Post by Dargin » September 29th, 2017, 1:28 pm

I'm new to lawncare. I just started working on my lawn in May of this year. Already made plenty of rookie mistakes, but managed to get things looking decent, for the time being...

I want to focus on soil health. I core aerated about three weeks ago. Manually. I used a pH test kit from LusterLeaf. Not sure how accurate it is, but it read around 5.2. Pretty ugly to say the least.

I just received 2 kits from Soil Savy. One for the front yard and one for the back.

1. Should I take the samples and send them off for analysis now, or should I wait until spring? I put down 10-10-10 when overseeding three weeks ago. Application rate of 1lb nitrogen per 1k sq. Feet. Would I still get accurate analysis of pH and micronutrients if I did the analysis now?

2. I have some Mag-I-Cal and Love Your Soil on its way. How late can I put down the former? Wait until warmer, more microbial friendly, spring temperatures to use the LYS?

3. Anything else I need to add to make these questions more easily answerable?

Thanks for any and all feedback. When I start to get a clue I'll be certain to reciprocate.

andy10917
Grass Type: Emblem KBG (Front); Blueberry KBG Monostand (Back)
Lawn Size: 1 acre-2 acre
Level: Advanced

Re: Soil Analysis in late September?

Post by andy10917 » September 29th, 2017, 2:11 pm

Read the Sticky Thread at the top of the Soil Forum.