Looking for suggestions to my lawn maintenance schedule

A forum to learn and discuss the importance of lawn care basics
surfnturf
Grass Type: ryegrass, fescues
Lawn Size: 3000-5000
Level: Some Experience

Looking for suggestions to my lawn maintenance schedule

Post by surfnturf » April 10th, 2019, 1:11 am

I am new at this, so please provide some feedback to what I have.

Background: My home is roughly 3,000 sq ft. I have deciduous trees in the front along with some bushes. My lawn is gets partial sun in the front and it's mostly shade on the other three sides. This lawn isn't going to be walked on much outside of my maintenance. I live in Zone 5B.I have compaction issues with my soil.

OVERSEED: Planting grass seed (need high soil contact)
1. Rake up dead grass
2. Cut grass length to 1.5 inches (once it reaches 3 inches)
3. Aerate soil
4. Drop seed and cover lightly with dirt

LAWN SCHEDULE:
1. (March/April) Crabgrass preemergent if you aren't growing grass (CAN'T SEED FOR GRASS for 4 months) ; take care of grubs now before they grow
2. (May/June) Fertilizer & broadleaf weed control (grass should be cut about 4 times before this step is done) 4-6 weeks after #1 (~Mother's Day or Memorial Day)
3. (July/Aug) Fertilizer (~4th of July)
4. Granular for lawn greenup next year (~Oct)

Being new to this, I think that I messed up my overseed last fall. I would rather forego crabgrass prevention, since I don't think I really have that as an issue. I'd rather rake up my leaves, aerate, and then overseed when the temps get between 50-65.

As far as my plan is set up, does anything look incorrect? Is anything missing? What are your thoughts on my course of action? I know the fall is the preferred time to do the overseed, but I am not trying to wait that long because I am not trying to go through the whole spring and summer with a lawn that needs work.

Irisbergamot
Grass Type: KBG, TTF
Lawn Size: 1000-3000

Re: Looking for suggestions to my lawn maintenance schedule