Advice needed - bewitched

Kentucky bluegrass, Fescue, Rye and Bent, etc
BrianJE
Grass Type: Bewitched Monostand
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

Advice needed - bewitched

Post by BrianJE » July 20th, 2017, 10:42 am

I'm trying to decide if I would like to add a couple of seed varieties to my bewitched monostand or stick it out for one more year. Here the situation:

I have a bewitched monostand that I mow at 1". We play soccer on it and golf on it daily. Bewitched has held up amazingly to divots and cleats. Now for the negative

Disease. I've had some pretty bad fungus issues (brown patch or summer patch). This is largely my fault as I didn't start any type of preventative fungicides till I saw some fungus in late may or June. I'm also new at all this and still honing my watering / fertilizing / cutting / fungicides .

One more note: Looks are not as important to me as functionality. If I can give up some looks for some disease resistance, I'm all for it. The purpose of this grass is for my kids and I to play hard on it.

Shall I attempt the monostand one more year with better cultural practices? Or should I mix in a few variates of kbg that tolerate close mowing? Any advice or seed recommendations are much appreciated.

Picture from this morning during a scorcher :

llO0DQLE
Grass Type: KBG and Creeping Red Fescue
Lawn Size: 1000-3000
Level: Some Experience

Re: Advice needed - bewitched

Post by llO0DQLE » July 20th, 2017, 9:19 pm

Well, seeing as the idea of a blend is to increase disease resistance and the major warning about monostands is having the whole stand wiped out due to disease....I guess there's your answer.

As to whether you should incorporate other varieties or stick with the mono for now... maybe other more experienced members can chime in as I've. Never had a mono.

Green
Grass Type: KBG, TTTF, TTPR, and FF (various mixtures)
Lawn Size: 10000-20000
Level: Experienced

Post by Green » July 20th, 2017, 9:26 pm