Fertilizer for newly seeded lawn

Kentucky bluegrass, Fescue, Rye and Bent, etc
sycorski
Grass Type: KBG, Rye
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

Fertilizer for newly seeded lawn

Post by sycorski » August 15th, 2019, 3:52 pm

Hello all, I'm a noob to this site and have a question I haven't found an answer for. I have a new lawn (new construction home) located in SW Wisconsin and was seeded on July 22nd. I have an irrigation system. I do not believe my landscaper used any fertilizer when they planted the seeds. I'm now coming up to 4 weeks post seeding and want to know when it's safe to fertilize. I've read that you should wait 6 weeks before you add anything. But ideally I could get one regular application in and then a late season/fall application as well. So question to the group is should I put down an application now? And if so, what? (Starter fertilizer or regular or Milorganite?) Or should I hold off longer and just do one application this year? Thanks for any advice you can provide.

andy10917
Grass Type: Emblem KBG (Front); Blueberry KBG Monostand (Back)
Lawn Size: 1 acre-2 acre
Level: Advanced

Re: Fertilizer for newly seeded lawn

Post by andy10917 » August 15th, 2019, 5:20 pm

It's not a big deal. Newly-seeded grass doesn't really require fertilizer until (1) it germinates, and (2) it passes the "sprout-and-pout" stage - it lives off of the "food" in the seed in its early days. Use the Search tool to find more out about Sprout and Pout.

Here's the big question: when did it germinate? It's not that easy a question with a KBG/Rye mix - the PR germinates much faster than the KBG. Did you keep the seeds watered lightly at 2X-3X a day, all the way through the first 3-4 weeks?