Too late for pre-emergent/ don't bother?

Kentucky bluegrass, Fescue, Rye and Bent, etc
bazilbrush
Grass Type: Dead
Lawn Size: 10000-20000
Level: Some Experience

Too late for pre-emergent/ don't bother?

Post by bazilbrush » May 1st, 2021, 11:17 am

I'm new to the forum, this is my first year of really taking on my lawn. It already seems like I might have started too late!

Lawn description: Located in New Jersey, fescue mix (tho with some other grasses in there), 15,000 s/ft. Lawn is green and looks OK from a distance, but a closer look shows that things aren't ideal - There are some small bald spots and various weeds in different areas. I'm dealing with a large amount of clover, some poa a, and multiple patches of a strange, woody, clumpy sprawling grass that is awful and seemingly common in NJ. I plan on taking core samples/ sending the soil in to Rutgers for a soil test to help guide a fertiliser strategy. I might also send a sample of this clumpy grass to find out what it is.

I over-seeded 3 weeks ago (I didn't know any better) and put down Millorganite. I applied Tenacity to the clover and poa a 8 days ago. Eliminating the clover has been a priority as it annoys my wife. My tenacity application wasn't ideal and I probably missed a few spots (I used a hand pump). So far the clover isn't showing much sign of stress, so I'm considering doing a blanket spray of Tenacity using a battery backpack sprayer this weekend.

I haven't applied any pre-emergent. Is it too late to do this/ not worthwhile given that i over-seeded/ still worth doing? Would I need to take soil samples before I do this or doesn't that matter? Thanks.

Green
Grass Type: KBG, TTTF, TTPR, and FF (various mixtures)
Level: Experienced

Re: Too late for pre-emergent/ don't bother?

Post by Green » May 1st, 2021, 4:58 pm

It's not too late to get partial control (since all the germination doesn't happen in the first few weeks of crabgrass season...far from it).