Total votes: 0

jjldh91
Grass Type: Tall Fescue
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

Need opinions for methods on full reno

Post by jjldh91 » September 14th, 2021, 5:10 pm

Hi all,

I’m new to this and have been researching like crazy to come up with a game plan. My front yard was about 30% weeds, 10% bare, and 60% non uniform grass. I decided to go with a full kill using glyphosate, followed by scalping with the lawn mower, and now watering to encourage any remaining seeds to emerge so I may kill them as well. I will be applying tenacity and seeding a top quality grass of 90% tall fescue 10% KBG. I am torn between a few options for preparation…

A. Rent a soil conditioner (Harley rake) to clean up soil, level better, and remove rocks. Then seed with broadcaster and yard roller.
Cost: $500.

B. Rent a power rake to loosen soil a little and remove more thatch. (though it doesn’t appear to be that bad) Then broadcast seed and roll.
Cost: $100.

C. Rent a power seeder and go over ground a couple times to loosen soil, then add seed and sow into ground.
Cost: $100.

This project is for 2500 square feet. I’m leaning towards option C but please tell me if I’m wrong. 90% of the ground had vegetation before kill so if I’m thinking correctly, the soil should be good as it is to grow new grass seed. Pictures are attached. Thank you!

MorpheusPA
Grass Type: Elite KBG
Lawn Size: 10000-20000
Level: Advanced

Re: Need opinions for methods on full reno

Post by MorpheusPA » September 14th, 2021, 8:32 pm

Insufficient data for a vote. How badly off-level and rocky is your lawn? If really badly, I'd actually recommend a professional (or a good amateur) with a box blade to even it out.

If not very, pick out the surface rocks and go with Option C.