Average First Frost Date vs Real First Frost Date

Kentucky bluegrass, Fescue, Rye and Bent, etc
andy10917
Grass Type: Emblem KBG (Front); Blueberry KBG Monostand (Back)
Lawn Size: 1 acre-2 acre
Level: Advanced

Average First Frost Date vs Real First Frost Date

Post by andy10917 » October 30th, 2022, 11:00 am

As the author of the Fall Nitrogen Regimens thread, I spend a fair amount of time studying year-to-year variances and how I might improve the checkpoints we use to make the regimen work better.

One of the most frustrating, repeating questions I see each year is related to whether to use the (recommended) Average First Frost Date or the date of the first actual frost date. This year provided a scenario that I studied in detail, and it backs up the importance of using the Average First Frost Date to time applications and "the Pause".

Where I live, the documented Average First Frost Date is October 15 - October 17. The Actual First Frost Date this year was October 30th. That's a two week difference. Which of the dates did the slowing of growth follow? It turns out that slowing growth followed the Average First Frost Date, and the progress has been steady since then - it did not wait for an actual frost.

Going through my data for 10 years, neither early actual nor late actual frosts affected the slowing of growth, with the exception of Zoysia observed on my neighbor's yard. Even Crabgrass declined more than inline with Average First Frost Date than Actual First Frost Date.

My conclusion is that Average First Frost Date is a much better indicator to use. This is likely to be due to the fact that Average First Frost Date includes the effects of the length of day, strength of the sunshine, rainfall patterns, etc. Actual Frost does not seem to be much of a factor unless you are growing Zoysia in the North. Average First Frost Date is climatological and actual frost is not.

turf_toes