Spraying PGR & Iron - Total Newbie

Kentucky bluegrass, Fescue, Rye and Bent, etc
R2k
Grass Type: Mazama KBG
Lawn Size: 5000-10000
Level: Experienced

Spraying PGR & Iron - Total Newbie

Post by R2k » May 12th, 2023, 4:53 pm

I'm totally new to spraying PGRs and iron. The PGR I'm using is Trinexapac-ethyl and the Iron solution will be Sprint 138 (EDDHA Iron) & Ammonium Sulfate (using rates for both according to the Sprint 138 directions).

I've gathered PGR/Iron should not be sprayed during high temps. I'm still gathering exact specs on that and reading up.

Note: the Sprint 138 is leftover from an experiment, I'll source something much cheaper in the future.

A couple of questions:

1. I would like to get the shoot growth suppression of the PGR and keep the deep green from the iron spray for long durations. Should I spray the PGR first, wait a day or two, and then apply the iron spray? Vice versa? Mix them? What's the best way to achieve this goal? I have zero experience with either process.

2. I'm nearly out of PGR temps from what I gather. Am I about to do something stupid by spraying PGR & Iron in the next few days given my weather conditions for the next two weeks?

Any other tips for me?

My weather for the next two weeks:

Thanks!

R2k

Re: Spraying PGR & Iron - Total Newbie

Post by R2k » May 13th, 2023, 3:19 pm

Leaning toward only experimenting in the backyard with a small section to test the PGR and waiting until after summer to do wider applications. The biggest thing I'm concerned about is the rebound effect happening into high summer temps & drought as I don't irrigate. Doing a small section out of public view gives me some experience to start drawing on.

Can't wait to do my first iron spray though!

R2k

Re: Spraying PGR & Iron - Total Newbie

Post by R2k » June 15th, 2023, 4:28 pm

Checking in - some lessons learned.

I did some calibration with my sprayer and found that 1 gal per 1000 sqft worked well.