Three Lawn Care Teams

Kentucky bluegrass, Fescue, Rye and Bent, etc
tlicious1020
Grass Type: TTTF
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

Three Lawn Care Teams

Post by tlicious1020 » December 31st, 2023, 12:39 am

I am a lawn care rookie of a year. I left Texas for California because my wife of 2 years works for the state of California. We married a year before I retired from the Air Force. The lawn at her house was riddled with weeds. She hired someone to "mow and blow" the lawn weekly.

I requested for the the guy to give me a great lawn. Paid a little more monthly and I didn't notice a difference after 2 months. So I cut him loose. Aerated and overseeded with Scott's TTTF. A beautiful lawn emerged.

I hired a neighbor with a lawn care business. I quickly learned he didn't know a great deal about TTTF as my lawn care knowledge heightened. He was a bad listener overall and had no clue what type of grass mix I had in my lawn. I would ask him not to mow seedlings in an area. Brow would just mow them down. I'm like you can't identify grass seedlings that I pointed out to you?

I hired lawn care service number three. The owner seemed knowledgeable. He could immediately identify the grass types in my lawn and the 4 different types of flowers in my garden area..I started noticing a few things though. Like I requested a list of products he uses on lawns like fertilizer and pre emergent. Never received that information. So I told him I'll do it myself. After aerating and overseeding in October, Stover Seed company recommended using a specific fertilizer. I wanted to use Dimension pre emergent and start applying it in February. My lawn care guy never told me what pre emergent he uses and he likes to start applying it in January. The Stover Seed company said to start in February. They're located in southern California.