Bermuda Seed Head Expression

Bermuda, St. Augustine, Zoysia, Centipede, Bahia, Paspalum, etc
GaTiller
Grass Type: Bermuda Sod < 1yr
Lawn Size: Not Specified
Level: Not Specified

Bermuda Seed Head Expression

Post by GaTiller » May 19th, 2017, 11:07 am

Hey y'all, I tried my best to search for threads that have covered seed head expression but couldn't find much that spoke specifically to my context so I wanted to reach out. I've been reading these forums all spring and I've been learning a lot, but as this is my first year maintaining a lawn of any kind of my own, it's inevitable I run into things I have no knowledge of.

My understanding of seed head expression at this point is that the grass is responding to stress; this is where I'm beginning to scratch my head. I've been fertilizing and adding nutrients pretty aggressively since my soil test interpretation came back, I've been irrigating properly, dont have much weed pressure, and I'm mowing regularly adhering to the 1/3 rule. My lawn is looking healthy and green, with no other signs of stress (to my admittedly untrained eye) besides the seed heads. So, my questions:

1) Is this just a natural process that happens regularly during spring green-up?

2) Is my new Bermuda lawn more prone to seed heads because it is fairly young at less than a year?

3) Is this something I just need to be fine with and wait out, or should I be taking action steps to reduce this expression?

FYI, average temps for my location throughout May have been Hi 80 / Lo 54, but the last week and a half its been more like high 80s and low 60s. Not much rain (a lot coming this week), but again I've been irrigating regularly.

Appreciate all the input!

booneatl
Grass Type: Tif 419

Re: Bermuda Seed Head Expression

Post by booneatl » May 19th, 2017, 11:28 am