Coach Batch's Bermuda Leveling Project

Bermuda, St. Augustine, Zoysia, Centipede, Bahia, Paspalum, etc
CoachBatch
Grass Type: Bermuda Hybrid
Lawn Size: 5000-10000
Level: Some Experience

Coach Batch's Bermuda Leveling Project

Post by CoachBatch » April 9th, 2020, 9:42 pm

Hey everyone. I have been following most of you leveling projects over the last several years and finally decided to jump in head first. I have a 6k Bermuda lawn in the Raleigh NC area. The house as brand new when we bought it in 2015 with your typical heavily compacted clay soil. I have taken several soil samples and stayed consistent with my micro apps for the last couple years. (I'm overdue for a new soil test, but wanted to wait will after this project to realign my micro program for 2020).

Here is my baseline and an overview of where I am when I started this. To be upfront, I have been addressing my yard with 70/30 mix for the last 2 years and so the process has been slowly evolving over the last 2 years.

We, like most of us, had a very mild winter with a fair amount of precipitation. I missed my fall application of Prodiamine which was a terrible mistake given the winter that we have had here. Lots of winter weeds said hello to my lawn and I kicked myself for missing that application. However, I attacked the whole lawn with 2 applications of the red label Image post emergent. First application of the Image was mid February and followed with another in late March. I will spot treat as needed for the remainder of the season. Scalping was next on the schedule for March 29th.