Bermudagrass novice

Bermuda, St. Augustine, Zoysia, Centipede, Bahia, Paspalum, etc
rraymond1130
Grass Type: Bermudagrass
Lawn Size: 5000-10000
Level: Experienced

Bermudagrass novice

Post by rraymond1130 » September 23rd, 2020, 2:22 pm

Relocated from NJ to Ga. Miss my Tall Fescue KBG lawn. Ok got a bermuda lawn.. Follow some youtube video's on how to care for lawn. I have a Toro Timemaster mower. Lowest I can cut with my mower without scalping is 2". I had let the lawn grow to 3" this summer because of the heat and no irrigation system. About 2 weeks ago I brought the height in the backyard down to 2" from 3" in 2 mowings. Applied some fertilizer and looks like the lawn is greening up slightly but the growth seems stunted. I left the front lawn at 3" but looks like its browning every time I cut it. In July it was beautiful now its hard on the eyes. So question, Should I leave the front at 3" until it goes dormant? Judging by the backyard I'm thinking yes... Will try a manual reel mower next year to see if it makes a difference.... Boy do I miss my Jersey lawn. Even did a reno on it following the directions of this site....

Dchall_San_Antonio
Grass Type: St Augustine
Lawn Size: 5000-10000
Level: Advanced

Re: Bermudagrass novice

Post by Dchall_San_Antonio » October 22nd, 2020, 1:16 pm

Hope you're still watching for replies here. I have a couple questions.
You can use a manual reel mower, but scalping will continue. When you say it is scalping under 2 inches, is the entire yard scalping or is it just in a few spots? If it is just in a few spots, then you need to level the surface to stop the scalping. Search this forum for several posts about leveling. Basically it involves fertilizing and watering, scalping as low as possible, filling low spots with sand, and sit back in amazement. There's more in the details, and it is a multi-man-day job, but the results are well worth it.